The Bone Room by Shane Scollins {Blog Tour}

The Bone Room Banner

The Bone RoomThe Bone Room
by Shane Scollins
Published by Limitless Book Publishing on September 18, 2013
Genres: Thriller
Source: the Publisher
Detective Roman Stone is working hard to rebuild the career he nearly destroyed.

When he gets called to Alexandria Bay, NY to help the small town police force find a popular missing teenager, random human bones start washing up on the shores of the St. Lawrence River and one simple case becomes the the biggest mystery of his life.

Chasing clues leads Roman to local historian Becca Quinn, who is the only one willing to show him around the old castles in the area. Becca heads up the Thousand Island Preservation Society and spends her days working to restore some of the island mansions for a new tourism initiative. The last thing she expects is to become part of the investigation, and for her life to be in danger.

What they find is something no one could imagine...

Something strange is lurking under the murky surface of the river waters, and a powerful local family is hiding secrets that could unravel the entire mystery.



Shane Headshot

Shane Scollins is a freelance writer and Amazon best selling author. Originally from New Jersey, he now resides in Upstate New York with his wife, Heather. He has a degree in computer science and has worked as an automotive service manager, a website developer and a computer network engineer. In his spare time he enjoys playing ice hockey, riding his mountain bike, and strumming on his guitar. Primarily a SciFi and paranormal novelist, Shane enjoys taking readers on surprising and unexpected journeys that twist reality. He is currently working on his next book

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Website

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Posted in Blog Tour | 1 Comment

Silent Echo by Elisa Freilich {Blog Tour}


Silent Echo: A Siren's TaleSilent Echo: A Siren's Tale
by Elisa Freilich
Published by Diversion Books on September 10, 2013
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 390
Format: eBook
Source: the Publisher
AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

**I was given a copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

Haunted by silence, a mute teenage girl is mysteriously given back her voice ... and it is divine.

"Silent Echo" is a gripping, original read, with a heroine you won t forget. Katniss Everdeen watch out for Portia Griffin. Erica Wagner, Author of "Seizure"

Rendered mute at birth, Portia Griffin has been silent for 16 years. Music is her constant companion, along with Felix, her deaf best friend who couldn t care less whether or not she can speak. If only he were as nonchalant about her newfound interest in the musically gifted Max Hunter.

But Portia s silence is about to be broken with the abrupt discovery of her voice, unparalleled in its purity and the power it affords to control those around her. Able to persuade, seduce and destroy using only her voice, Portia embarks on a search for answers about who she really is, and what she is destined to do.

Inspired by Homer s "Odyssey, Silent Echo: A Siren s Tale" is an epic story filled with fantasy, romance and original music.

Opening Sentence:

“The fluttering of the birds’ wings against the windshield produced a steady noise not unlike the whirring of a fan. He looked over at the pained face of his wife. She was at the peak of labor, her contractions only two minutes apart.”



I really liked this book. It was a light, fun read that was easily enjoyable. However, it could have been so much more. The story line had the potential to make the ranks of the greatest reads in recent history, to be likened to other stories of Greek mythology the likes of Percy Jackson or the Goddess Test or heck, even the Covenant series. But alas, I think this one fell just a little short of that.

This is the first book I have ever read where the main character is mute and I absolutely loved it. It was not called out as a problem or issue that she had to overcome, just a way of life for her and her best friend Felix, who is deaf. They became fast friends at a young age being the (seemingly) only handicapped kids at their school. But even several of the other kids at school learned some sign language and life was good. This is really the only piece I was slightly let down with – I think the story could have been made even better by placing it in the ASL community, maybe at a school for the deaf. That would have added a whole other layer of drama to Portia’s dilema when she receives her voice.

So Portia is a quiet, unassuming, “nice” girl who everyone knows but doesn’t really know. During a traumatic episode with one of her former friends, she finds her voice. And not only can she talk, but she can SING! Finding out that her songs can wield power over other people is a strange and empowering discovery for Portia. As she moves through these very unexpected changes she understandably struggles to maintain herself. An internal battle between good and evil is waged and leaves the reader bouncing from feeling bad for Portia and hating her for what she is doing.

Now I must warn some of you. If you are Greek mythology scholar, knowing each and every god on a near personal level, you will be overly frustrated with and angered by this book. Ms. Freilich decided to bring the gods into the 21st century, modern technology and all. The gods have their own internet address (.god) and are no strangers to text messages and video messaging. If this is not enough to send you into a fit of fury, the lack of character building for the gods will. They are left as one-dimensional characters with little more information about them than the power they wield.

However, if you are a fan of Greek mythology or looking for a fun fantasy read while you await the next Percy Jackson movie to be released, Silent Echo is for you!

I give it…
4 Stars

Sneak Peek from the book!

Other blogs participating in the tour…

Feel free to visit the other blogs on the site to see what they thought of the book.

About Elisa Freilich


Elisa Freilich has enjoyed a love affair with language from her earliest days. Raised in rural Monsey, New York, Elisa spent her days reading whatever crossed her path and developed a keen appreciation for the ever-present music in her home – from classical to rock. French lessons and creative writing workshops complemented her adolescence, which was also greatly enhanced by a summer spent abroad at Cambridge University. From the time she could read and write, Elisa could often be found composing poems, song lyrics and satirical newspapers.

After her college years at Boston University, Elisa continued her creative pursuits, working as a junior VP of Marketing at a corporate graphic design agency and, later, as an interior decorator. Eventually, Elisa left the workforce to raise her family, in her now hometown of Englewood, NJ.

Throughout the years, Elisa has retained her devotion to all genres of books and music and was determined to synthesize her passions into one refreshing and original platform. The result is her debut novel, SILENT ECHO: A Siren’s Tale, which will be published by Diversion Books in September 2013. With her own lyrical style, Elisa has created a world that young adults around the globe will find intensely gripping and refreshingly original.

When Elisa is not writing, her creative outlets still abound. She is fierce with a set of knitting needles, a hot glue gun and any ingredients that can somehow be fashioned into a sinful and highly caloric babka.

Posted in Blog Tour, Young Adult Book Reviews | 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday {9-18-13}

Zemanta Related Posts Thumbnail

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

My pick for this week is…

Not a Drop to DrinkNot a Drop to Drink
by Mindy McGinnis
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 24, 2013
Genres: Dystopian, Sci-Fi
Pages: 320
AmazonBarnes & NobleAudibleGoodreads
Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn't leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.

This book has been on my TBR ever since I learned of it from the girls at Epic Reads. The concept is simple: a dystopian world where water is the last source of survival for many and one girls journey to protect her families lake. I am in the mood for a good dystopian novel, so this one is coming at the perfect time.

I have pre-ordered this as an audio book through and cannot wait to start in on it.

What are you waiting for this week?

Posted in Waiting on Wednesday | 6 Comments

Top Ten Books on My Fall 2013 TBR {TTT #1}

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This weeks topic is

Top Ten Books on My Fall 2013 TBR List


Neglected TBR Books

These books have been sitting on my TBR pile for FAR TOO LONG. I would really like to read them this fall!

The Girl Who #1The Girl Who #2

The first two books in the Fairyland series by Catherynne M. Valente (Published May 10, 2011 and October 2, 2012, respectively)

With exquisite illustrations by acclaimed artist Ana Juan, Fairyland lives up to the sensation it created when the author first posted it online. For readers of all ages who love the charm of Alice in Wonderland and the soul of The Golden Compass, here is a reading experience unto itself: unforgettable, and so very beautiful.

Book #3 in this series, The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two, comes out October 1, 2013 and I want to be all caught up and ready to dive into the new book.

The Smoke Thief
The Smoke Thief

By Shana Abe (Published September 27, 2005)

For centuries they’ve lived in secret among northern England’s green and misted hills. Creatures of extraordinary beauty, power, and sensuality, they possess the ability to shape-shift from human to dragon and back again. Now their secret–and their survival–is threatened by a temptation that will break every boundary….

I have read and reviewed two of Shana’s YA Drakon series (The Sweetest Dark and The Deepest Night). I found out that these YA books were a spin-off of an adult series Shana wrote. The Smoke Thief is the first of this adult series. I loved Shana’s writing style and am excited to read more of her work!


By Mike Mullin (Published October 11, 2011)

Many visitors to Yellowstone National Park don’t realize that the boiling hot springs and spraying geysers are caused by an underlying supervolcano, so large that the caldera can only be seen by plane or satellite. And by some scientific measurements, it could be overdue for an eruption.

My good friend Octavia from Read. Sleep. Repeat. raves about this book – really, like nonstop recommendations via Twitter, talking about it via blog posts, and she threw it to me as a recommendation on Goodreads. Okay, I’m caving. I grabbed the book from my local library and have until 10/15 to read it….I Will!

The Parts I Remember
The Parts I Remember

By A.K. Mills (Published March 1, 2013)

Act first. Think never. Remember nothing.

Welcome to Kelly Rockport’s existence at Haysville University, where responsibility is just an elective. After all, fake IDs, alter egos, and one-night stands are all part of the college experience, right? So what if she blacks out from time to time? Memory is overrated.

I received a copy of this from the author and Kelly over at Effortlessly Reading really enjoyed it. I value her opinion and am ready to get into this one post haste. :)


By Madeleine Roux (Published August 20, 2013)

Featuring found photos of unsettling history and real abandoned asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Madeleine Roux’s teen debut, Asylum, is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity.

I pre-ordered this book and then when it came out one of my co-bloggers grabbed it before I could read it. I am going to get it back and read this one before the year is out. How creepy is that cover!!

Game Set Match
Game. Set. Match.

By Jennifer Iacopelli (Published May 1, 2013)

Nestled along the North Carolina coast, the Outer Banks Tennis Academy is the world’s most elite training facility. In this pressure-cooker environment, futures are forged in blood and sweat, and dreams are shattered in an instant.

With so much at stake, dreams—and hearts—are bound to break. Welcome to OBX: Where LOVE is a four-letter word, on and off the court.

Holy Cow – I have seen this OBX stuff everywhere! Time to see what all the fuss is about for myself. :)

ARCS to Read

InHumanFreshman Forty
(To be Published September 24, 2013)   (To be Published December 2013)

Books I Have on Pre-Order

(To be Released October 22, 2013)   (To be Released November 2, 2013)

To those among you who are very astute, Yes I listed 11 books…..I’m a rebel.

What are you most looking forward to reading this fall? Let us know in the comments!

Posted in Top Ten Tuesday | 13 Comments

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) {4* Review}

City of BonesCity of Bones
Series: The Mortal Instruments #1
by Cassandra Clare
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books on March 27, 2007
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal
Pages: 485
Format: Hardcover
Source: Borrowed from Library
AmazonBarnes & NobleAudibleGoodreads
When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder -- much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It's hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing -- not even a smear of blood -- to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . .

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare's ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Opening Sentence:

“You’ve got to be kidding me,” the bouncer said, folding his arms across his massive chest. He stared down at the boy in the red zip-up jacket and shook his shaved head. “You can’t bring that thing in here.”

Book Review:

Not my favorite book in the world but definitely worth the read.

Clary is the 18 year-old daughter of a single mother whose father died before she was born. We get the sense that they have a very close relationship even though in the early part of the book they get into a fight which creates distance between them. My only problem with Clary was that she never grew as a person throughout the story. Granted the entire book only takes place over the course of two weeks, but still, I expect the main character to learn and grow and adapt to the situations they go through. And Clary definitely had enough trials to learn from!

Unfortunately through everything she went through, she still remained this helpless, dependent, “mundane” character. Lol. See what I did there? (P.S. in the book “mundane” is the name given to regular humans; non-magical folk). I found the naming to be rather fitting for Clary as she left me expecting so much more from her character.

Jace is my favorite kind of bad boy. His rough attitude and perfect looks hide a hurt, soft little boy who just wants to be loved. An orphan at the age of twelve, Jace was taken in by the Lightwoods and lived/trained at the Institute; a safe house for Shadowhunters. He is often rude and opinionated but he is also loyal to a fault and honest.

While the book was very well-written, the pacing was really slow in the beginning. There was a lot going on but the story didn’t go anywhere for the first 149 pages (or so). If I hadn’t really wanted to see the movie, I am not sure I would have pushed through the book as fast as I did. This probably would’ve ended up in my “maybe later” TBR pile.

All that being said, I did really enjoy this book. Really! I did! It had a good dose of fantasy (which I love) and the world building was spot on. It had all the classic paranormal characters: witches, vampires, werewolves, angels, demons, and even some zombie-like creatures. The pictures that were conjured up through Clarissa’s writing were fantastic!

Hidden within this fantasy novel is also a mystery thriller. The reader is given clues, at a dizzying rate, which have no real place in the story at that time. Some clues are rather obvious (at least to me) and others left me scratching my head. (I was constantly thinking “Does this mean something or am I reading too much into this?”. At the end of the book you can finally see how all of the pointless romping around from the first two-thirds of the book finally makes sense. And by the last third of the book you are on the edge of your seat, waiting for the next unexpected twist to happen and still taken off-guard when it does.

If you still haven’t jumped on the TMI band-wagon, I recommend you give this book a try. There is a high dose of fantasy, but I think this book could appeal to more than just fantasy fans.

4 Stars

About Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts.

Posted in Young Adult Book Reviews | 4 Comments